ABC57 wins National Murrow Award for ‘The River’

The ABC57 News team has won a National Edward R. Murrow Award for “The River: The Eric McGinnis Murder.”

The team won in the Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion category.

Our coverage focuses on the May 1991 murder of 16-year-old Benton Harbor High School student Eric McGinnis.

Five days after being dropped off at a teenage dance spot in Saint Joseph, his body was found floating in the St. Joseph River.

Click here to check out our coverage.

This is the team’s third National Murrow Award.

In 2015, ABC57 won the national award in Feature Reporting for Making Picture Perfect Memories.

In 2017, ABC57 won the national award in Excellence in Video for Skyline Skepticism.

A special thanks goes to Brian Conybeare, Heather Ferrell, Todd Madding and Theo Kilgore for their work on “The River.”

Share this article: