Sullivan, Chaffee and Riley win seats on Penn Harris Madison school board

The Penn Harris Madison school board race has received a lot of attention this year. There were four seats up for grabs, with one of the races uncontested.

Matthew Chaffee won Penn Township with 54% of the vote. His opponent, incumbent James Turnwald, received 46% of the vote.

Chaffee says he will prioritize teaching critical thinking skills, and fostering a sense of community within schools.

Larry Beehler is running for seat 1, Madison Township, uncontested. He has been a board member since 1986.

Chris Riley, the incumbent, defeated Bryan Jones in the Harris Township seat.

Riley first joined the board in 2011. His goals are furthering academic achievement and ensuring physical and emotional safety of students.

Three candidates ran for the at-large seat. Dana Sullivan won with 53% of the vote against candidates George Bashura III and Andy Rutten.

Sullivan supports excellence in education and prioritizes safety.

Share this article: