Elkhart Chapter of Indiana Black Expo hosts '2024 Black Women Who Rock' event, Saturday

Elkhart Chapter of Indiana Black Expo

ELKHART, Ind. -  The Elkhart Chapter of Indiana Black Expo is hosting its eighth annual "Black Women Who Rock" event on Saturday which honors African American Women in Elkhart County for their exceptional work in the community.

Robert Taylor, President of the Chapter, says "Black Women Who Rock" is an annual award dinner during Black History Month.

The organization announced it will honor Lucy Porter and Peggy Curry Thomas with the first annual "Edith Pasley Lifetime Achievement Awards" for their outstanding work in Elkhart County.

Other "Black Women Who Rock" honorees include Sharlon Coleman, Hilda Peters, Donya Johnson, Christy Matthews, Nichole Outterbridge, Tasha Neely, Regina Roberson, Tawana Rivers, Ashley Spencer, Hattie Redman, Katrina Butler, Victoria Vanpelt, and Sharon James.

Organizers also announced their keynote speaker will be Yovonne Herrington, KeyBank Regional Corporate Responsibility Officer and Community Relations for Indiana and Michigan.

Yvonne Harrington joined KeyBank in 2007 and has a broad financial service background spanning more than 40 years.

Tickets for the event can be purchased here. Tickets are $50 and organizers say they will not be sold at the door.

The event is Saturday, February 24, from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. at Matterhorn Catering located at 2041 Cassopolis St. in Elkhart.

For further info about the Elkhart Chapter of Indiana Black Expo and future events, you can check out their website.

Share this article: