South Bend Schools' Broadcast Media and Film program is Indiana's News School of the Year

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- The Broadcast Media and Film program with the South Bend Community School Corporation's Career and Technical Education Department announced on Tuesday a long list of local winners from the 2024 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters competition.

"For the second year in a row, our student media team won 'News School of the Year', making us the top student news team in the state," said SBCS Communication Director Andrew Goetz. 

"We also received 3rd Place 'Video School of the Year.' School of the Year is determined by points earned from placements in the contest. We also received 1st place for our show 'Kids in the Bend' and 2nd place for our four-time, award-winning show 'Buzz in the Bend', both in the Video Magazine category."

Officials say 41 Indiana high schools submitted 672 entries across 42 categories, and there were 87 judges from the fields of media production and broadcasting there to decide the winners.

Full list of local winners, plus a link to watch their award-winning videos:

Video Comedy/Parody - 1st Place
Matthew Pandori-Tessely & Cameron Kendall

Video Magazine - 1st Place
“Kids in the Bend”
SBS-TV Media Team

Video Magazine - 2nd Place
“Buzz in the Bend”
SBS-TV Media Team

Photojournalism - 2nd Place
Matthew Pandori-Tessely

Radio In-Depth - 2nd Place
Matthew Pandori-Tessely & Lydia Thurston

Video Sports Program - 2nd Place
SBS-TV Sports Media Team

Radio Interview - 3rd Place
Reese Kissel

School Newscast - 3rd Place
SBS-TV Media Team

Video Package - 3rd Place
Cameron Kendall & Matthew Pandori-Tessely

Video In-Depth - 3rd Place
Reese Kissel & Noah Gordon

Radio News Anchor - Finalist
Reese Kissel

Photojournalism - Honorable Mention
Jamal Dukes

You can watch the IASB 2024 South Bend Schools winning videos here.

The Broadcast Media & Film program is led by Media Instructor Tim Richardson and supported by Media Assistant and Producer Erika Celeste. They have a combined 50 plus years of award-winning filmmaking, media production and journalism experience.

Share this article: