Notre Dame's Pat Kavanagh wins the Tewaaraton Award

WASHINGTON D.C. -- Notre Dame Lacrosse attackman Pat Kavanagh won the coveted Tewaaraton Award Thursday evening.

Kavanagh is the first Notre Dame player to win the award.Pat Kavanagh with the national championship trophy. by Jena Stopczynski / ABC57

The Tewaaraton, considered the Heisman of lacrosse, is an annual award given to the top male and female college lacrosse player in the country.

Kavanagh was a finalist alongside teammate and Notre Dame goalie Liam Entenmann.

Kavanagh finished the 2024 season as the ACC Offensive Player of the year, sixth overall PLL draft pick to the Boston Cannons, and two-time national champion. He was also the first player in program history to be named a Tewaaraton finalist three times in his career.

Becoming the only player in program history to reach 300 points, Kavanagh set the all- time career Notre Dame points record with 301, and also set the record for assists with 184.

Click here to see Kavanagh's full list of accolades.

In program history the Irish have had a total of seven Tewaaraton finalists. Entenmann (2024), Kavanagh (2021, 2023, 2024), Matt Kavanagh (2015), Matt Landis (2016) and Tom Glatzel (2001).

Northwestern Lacrosse attacker Izzy Scane won the women's Tewaaraton Award.

Share this article: