Notre Dame men's lacrosse wins championship for second straight year

ABC 57

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. -- The No. 1 Notre Dame men's lacrosse team won the NCAA Championship match today against No. 7 Maryland, defeating them 15-5.

This is Notre Dame's second straight championship, becoming the ninth team in the history of college lacrosse to repeat as champions and the first to go back-to-back since Duke ten years ago.

Standout Goalie Liam Entenmann's five goals allowed ties a record for the fewest allowed in an NCAA tournament game and the 10-goal margin of victory is the second highest in the postseason at Notre Dame.

Chris Kavanagh was the NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player after scoring five goals in the game, tying an NCAA Tournament record. His older brother Pat had five assists.

Share this article: